Sometimes our details change! We move house, get a new phone number or even a new email address.

Personalising your user profile

We understand the importance of a personal touch, and the user profile ensures that you have control over your profile and information. This profile dialog is visible and editable only to you.

You will find different sections for you to fill in. Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required information, and everything else is optional! Here's a short guide to filling in your user profile:

  • Avatar (optional): Upload a photo of yourself to help your organisation and fellow volunteers recognise who you are.

  • Name fields: Your first name, last name and preferred name (optional)

  • Date of birth: Your date of birth

  • Email: This is the email address associated with your account on Volaby, and is the address that you'll use to sign in to Volaby. All relevant emails from Volaby will be sent to this address. Note: If you update your email address, make sure you use the new address next time you sign in to Volaby.

  • Mobile: Your mobile number.

  • About me (optional): If you have something about yourself you would like to share- your available times, an inspirational quote, or a funny anecdote, here is the place to put it! This will be visible to other volunteers and managers.

Viewing other volunteers' profile details

Your user profile is a way for other volunteers, activity leaders, and program managers to better understand you and to find ways to contact you.

That being said, it also allows you to view other volunteers' information. You can do that by hovering over their names on rosters, and as a volunteer viewing other volunteers' profiles, you'll be able to see:

  • Name

  • Role (volunteer, activity leader, program manager or admin)

  • When they joined

  • Status

  • About Me

As a volunteer viewing your Activity Leader's and Program Manager's profiles, you'll be able to see extra contact information such as their email and phone number.

If you are a manager viewing volunteer and other manager profiles, you'll be able to see the full set of information such as:

  • Name

  • Role (volunteer, activity leader, program manager or admin)

  • When they joined

  • Email

  • Phone number

  • Status

  • About Me.

Accessing your user profile

There are 2 ways to access your account preferences in Volaby:

1. Clicking on your account icon in the top right corner, then selecting 'Account Settings'. This will bring up a dialog that has the 'Edit profile' tab open by default.

2. Visit My Elements, and clicking 'Edit profile'.

Following these steps will bring up a dialog containing your user profile information.

Editing your user profile

Next, we'll cover what editing your profile involves.

In Volaby, you have full control of the information in your user profile. You will be able to edit all the content on there and make sure that your information is up to date.

Some things to take note of:

  • All required (*) fields must have content in there at all times. If the required fields are left blank you won't be able to save your profile.

  • Remember to hit 'Save' when you're done so that your changes are saved.

Statuses

What is your status

Here is where the fun begins! A status is a short message you can set to let other volunteers and managers know what you’re up to at the moment. Your status has 2 parts to it - an emoji and a status message.

When you set a status, other users will be able to see your status emoji anywhere that they can access your profile summary by hovering over your name. Likewise, you'll also be able to view other users' profile summaries by hovering over their names.

Editing your status

To edit your status, simply click on your account icon in the top right corner, and click on the field that will say 'Add a status' if you don't currently have one set.

This will bring up a dialog where you'll be able to set an emoji and a custom message.

Remember to hit 'Save' once you've added your status. You'll see your new status reflected in the status field on the dialog, and it'll remain there until you either clear or update your status.

Did this answer your question?